Leeds voters urged to make their mark in the general election: Voter ID newsroom

01 Jul 2024

Leeds voters urged to make their mark in the general election


Election day on Thursday 4 July

Voters in Leeds are encouraged to have their say by taking part in the general election this week.

Polling stations across Leeds will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 4 July for everyone registered who has not already voted by post to support their candidate in the seven parliamentary constituencies being managed by Leeds City Council. Anyone unsure of where their polling station is can find out via https://wheredoivote.co.uk

Everyone voting in person on Thursday is reminded of the need to remember to take their accepted form of photo ID with them to the polling station, which will be checked on arrival. To see the list of accepted forms of ID visit Voter photo ID (leeds.gov.uk). Voters will be able to use expired ID if they are still recognisable from the photo.  

It may be necessary for polling officials to ask voters to remove face coverings in order to verify their identity. Privacy booths will be available at all polling stations, with a choice of a male or female official to carry out the check.

Anyone wishing to hand in a postal vote rather than returning it in the post via Royal Mail needs to be aware of the following rules in place:

  • Completed postal vote packs can only be handed in at a polling station or at the electoral services office at Leeds Civic Hall, LS1 1UR. No other council offices will be able to accept votes.
  • Anyone handing in a postal vote on behalf of themselves or other people will be required to fill in a form, giving their name and address, how many postal votes they are handing in and why they are being handed in rather than returned by post. Polling station and council staff will be able to help with this process.
  • If handing in postal votes on behalf of other people, this is now limited to the person handing the votes in along with up to five other votes – so a maximum of six.

For more information on completing and returning postal vote packs, visit https://www.leeds.gov.uk/your-council/elections/postal-voting#newrules

The election count in Leeds will take place overnight on Thursday at the John Charles Centre for Sport, with the results being posted on the council’s website and twitter account at @LeedsCC_News.

The candidates standing to become MPs in the seven constituencies being counted in Leeds along with all key election information can be seen via https://www.leeds.gov.uk/your-council/elections/parliamentary-general-election.

Acting Returning Officer and chief executive of Leeds City Council Tom Riordan said:

“The general election is hugely important in shaping the future of Leeds and the country so we would encourage everyone registered to have their say by voting.

“Please remember if you are voting in person you must take an accepted form of photo ID with you to the polling station, as without it you will not be allowed to vote.

“Postal voters please return your vote by post but if you do need to hand it in in person please be mindful of the new rules about where and how to do that. The count will be held overnight on Thursday so we look forward to another exciting election day and night to come."

For more information on voting and elections visit the Electoral Commission’s website at Home Page | Electoral Commission.

Notes to editors:

Due to boundary changes some of the names of parliamentary constituencies for and including areas of Leeds have changed with the constituencies being voted on in the general election being as follows:

Leeds Central & Headingley - (including Headingley & Hyde Park, Kirkstall, Little London & Woodhouse, Weetwood ward areas)

Leeds East - (Cross Gates & Whinmoor, Garforth & Swillington, Gipton & Harehills, Killingbeck & Seacroft, part of Temple Newsam ward)

Leeds North East - (Alwoodley, Chapel Allerton, Moortown, Roundhay wards)

Leeds North West - (Adel & Wharfedale, Guiseley & Rawdon, Horsforth, Otley & Yeadon)

Leeds South - (Beeston & Holbeck, Burmantofts & Richmond Hill, Hunslet & Riverside, Middleton Park, part of Temple Newsam ward)

Leeds South West & Morley - (Ardsley & Robin Hood, Farnley & Wortley, Morley North, Morley South wards)

Leeds West & Pudsey - (Armley, Bramley & Stanningley, Calverley & Farsley, Pudsey wards)

Selby - (including Kippax & Methley) – count being managed by North Yorkshire Council

Wakefield & Rothwell - (including Rothwell ward) – count being managed by Wakefield Council

Wetherby & Easingwold - (including Harewood and Wetherby wards) – count being managed by North Yorkshire Council


For media enquiries please contact:

Leeds City Council communications and marketing,

Email: communicationsteam@leeds.gov.uk

Tel: 0113 378 6007

For media enquiries contact:

Leeds City Council Communications team